It’s Monday, new people have settled in, and it’s hike assessment day.  Today’s hike was called Sidewinder.  Very aptly named.  It’s very popular with local mountain bikers, and since today is an American holiday, there were plenty of them on the path.  We climbed all the way to the top, and marched back down again.  Total time was 2.5 hours.  I decided to attach something I found on youtube to show the downward trip from a biker’s point of view:

And since this was an assessment hike, there was no time for pictures.  I did however manage to grab a shot with my iphone:

Sidewinder
Sidewinder

Despite the clouds this morning, the days are getting warmer, and so I finally decided to do an outdoor pool class this afternoon.  The pool is super warm.  The air however is cold in comparison, so Susan-from-Kalamazoo taught me the ropes:  She said the secret is to put your robe and towel next to the hot tub.  As soon as the class is about to be over, make a bee-line to the hot tub to warm your bones.  Then there are only a couple short steps to your robe when you get out.  Always listen to the voice of experience.

I went to a cooking demonstration today, and learned the chef’s magic ways to make some of his most popular low calorie dishes, including his “Banana Cream Pie”….soooo delicious.  The “crust” was made from Grape Nuts cereal, and the “cream” was a greek yogurt base.  I promise to share the recipe as soon as I get it.

I am super sore right now.  In addition to the Sidewinder hike, and the pool class, I also attended Stretch Class, Circuit Training and Court Challenge (2 minutes at each station twice – stations included burpees, stair runs, battle ropes, etc etc.).  I burned over 3,200 calories today, walked over 28,000 steps, and climbed the equivalent of 120 flights of stairs.

But, when I looked out the window from the dining room and saw the magnificent sunset, I had to take ten more steps to capture it (again, my iphone was all I had available).

This is my View as I Eat Dinner
This is my View as I Eat Dinner

A couple of Tylenol PMs, and I am off to dreamland.